Nagaland is again a BJP alliance.. Chance of getting a clear majority

Exit polls say that BJP will come back to power in Nagaland. It is estimated that NDPP and BJP alliance is likely to win 35 to 43 seats out of 60 seats.

bjp and ndpp alliance may regain nagaland predicts exit polls kms

First Published Feb 27, 2023, 7:44 PM IST

Nagaland assembly elections are over. Exit polls have just come out. These exit polls predict that the BJP coalition will come to power again. In the exit polls, the BJP and NDPP alliance are likely to get a clear majority. There are 60 seats in the Nagaland Assembly and a majority mark of 31 seats is required to form the government. Genius Matrix exit polls have estimated that the BJP and NDPP alliance is likely to win 35 to 43 seats in the Nagaland assembly elections. Meanwhile, it explained that there are chances of Congress getting one to three seats. Meanwhile, NPF has a chance of winning two to five seats.

82 percent voter turnout was recorded in today’s assembly election in Nagaland. Zee News estimated that the alliance of NDPP and BJP won 67 percent of the votes.

The Central Election Commission has announced the schedule for assembly elections in North Eastern states of Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland in January this year. With this, the main political parties intensified their campaigns. Polling was held in Tripura on 16th of this month. Polling was held on Monday (February 27) in the states of Meghalaya and Nagaland. Elections were held in only 59 out of 60 assembly seats in Nagaland. BJP candidate Kajito Kinimi won unopposed after Congress candidate Khekashi Sumi dropped out of Akuluto constituency in Nagaland. With this BJP opened its account in Nagaland.

Nagaland has a total of 13.17 lakh voters. The people of Nagaland will decide the fate of all 183 candidates through this election. There are only four women among the total candidates. Nagaland is currently ruled by a coalition government of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP). This alliance will look to retain power once again. These two parties also stood in the election ring in the ratio of 20:40. 20 candidates from BJP and 40 candidates from NDPP stood in the fray. On the other hand, Naga People’s Front (NPF) is contesting in 22 seats and Congress in 23 seats. NCP won 12 seats, JDU 7 seats, LJP (Ram Vilas) 15 seats, RPI (Athawale) 9 seats and RJD 3 seats.

When it comes to the celebrities who are in the ring in this election.. Nagaland BJP chief Tenzen Imna Along.. is contesting from the seat of Alongtaki. He is also serving as the Minister of Higher and Technical Education in the current government. Only JDU has fielded its candidate J Lanu Longchar from this seat. On the other hand, another seat that is attracting everyone is from Ghaspani. N Jacob Jimomi on behalf of BJP and Akavi N Jimomi as Congress candidate are in the fray. In Dimapur-3, NDPP candidate Hekani Jakhalu is contesting. Lok Janashakti Party (Ram Vilas) has given ticket to Ajeto Jimomi from this seat. Further, the counting of votes for Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland assembly elections will be held on March 2.

Last Updated Feb 27, 2023, 7:45 PM IST

Download App:

  • android
  • ios


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *