Neephiu Rio took oath as the CM of Nagaland for the fifth time.. This is his political journey..

Kohima: Nagaland’s longest-serving Chief Minister Neephiu Rio has brought his party and its ally BJP to power once again. Took power for the fifth time. In the recently held elections, the BJP and the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) won 33 seats in the 60-seat Nagaland Assembly.

Neephiu Rio took oath as the CM of Nagaland for the fifth time;  his political journey

First Published Mar 7, 2023, 3:33 PM IST

Nagaland CM Neiphiu Rio: Political giant Neiphiu Rio took oath as the Chief Minister of Nagaland for the fifth term. On Tuesday, he was sworn in as the CM in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Nagaland Governor La Ganesan, BJP President JP Nadda and Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sharma. The swearing in ceremony was held in the city of Kohima. Along with him, nine other MLAs.. G Kaito Aye, Jacob Jimomi, KG Kenye, P Paiwang Konyak, Metsubo Jamir, Temzen Imna Along, CL John, Salhoutuonuo Kruse, P Bashangmongba took oath as ministers in the Nagaland Cabinet.

In the recently concluded Nagaland Assembly elections, the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and its ally the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won a total of 37 seats (NDPP 25, BJP 12). Lok Janashakti Party (Ram Vilas), which contested 15 assembly seats, also managed to open its account by winning two seats. The Naga People’s Front also won two seats, while the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) managed to win seven seats in the northern state. Janata Dal (United) won one seat. Rio will lead an unopposed all-party government in the state with all parties backing the alliance led by Rio.

Who is Niphiu Rio..? His political journey..

Nephiu Rio was born on November 11, 1950 in Kohima, the capital of Nagaland. An active student leader in high school and college, Nephiu Rio entered politics at an early age. He started his political career in 1974 as the president of the youth wing of the United Democratic Front in Kohima district. It was in this sequence that Rio lost only one election in 1987. At that time he contested as an independent candidate. After two years i.e. in 1989, after joining the Congress, his political rise began. After that initial temporary success, his political journey continued unabated. He has served the country in many capacities, most notably as Home Minister in Jamir’s cabinet till 2002.

However, he left the Congress in 2022. He was instrumental in reviving the Naga People’s Front. Rio became the CM of Nagaland for the first time in 2003. Rio ousted Jamir in 2003 and became the first Chief Minister. He was removed from the post of Chief Minister in January 2008 when President’s rule was imposed in the state. In the elections held two months later, Rio was invited to form the government as the leader of the NPF-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland. In the 2013 state elections, the NPF won a landslide victory. Rio was re-elected Chief Minister for the third time.

He held the position till 2014 and decided to resign and contest for the National Parliament. He resigned from the Lok Sabha membership on February 9, 2018 and returned to state politics. Ryo joined the NDDP amid internal wrangling in the party. He contested the 2018 state elections on a pre-existing agreement with the Kashya Party.

Last Updated Mar 7, 2023, 3:33 PM IST

Download App:

  • android
  • ios


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *