Team India captain will be the captain of Mumbai.. official announcement


First Published Mar 1, 2023, 6:57 PM IST

Indian women’s cricket team captain Harmanpreet Kaur will captain Mumbai Indians in the Women’s Premier League. In the WPL auction that ended a few days ago, Harmanpreet was sold to Mumbai for Rs. It is known that it was acquired for 1.8 crores. Harman, who has been successfully managing Team India for some time now will lead Mumbai as the captain. MI owner Nita Ambani officially announced this.

Nita Ambani responded… ‘We are very happy to appoint Harmanpreet as the captain of the Mumbai Indians women’s team. She is leading the national team.. We hope that with the help of the Mumbai coaching staff of Jhulan Goswami and Charlotte Edwards, she will give our team similar success…

We are very excited as MI embarks on a new chapter. We are confident that our women’s team will entertain MI fans by playing fearless cricket in the first season. Our best wishes to Harmanpreet Kaur and Co.,” said a statement.

The Mumbai team will play their first match against Gujarat Giants on April 4. The first season will start with this match which will be held at DY Patil Stadium. It is known that Harmanpreet, who was selected as the captain of the Mumbai team, is the captain of the Indian women’s cricket team. Rohit Sharma is also the captain of Indian team in men’s cricket and he is the captain of Mumbai Indians in IPL. It is remarkable that these two captains of the national team are now playing for the same team in franchise cricket.

Mumbai Team: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Natalie Seaver, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia, Heather Graham, Isabelle Wong, Amanjyot Kaur, Dhara Gujjar, Saika Ishaq, Healy Mathews, Humaira Kazi, Priyanka Bala, Chol Tyran, Sonam Yadav , Jintimani Kalita, Neelam Bisht

After announcing Harmanpreet as the captain, four teams have announced their captains in the Women’s Premier League. Only Delhi Capitals are yet to officially announce their captain. This is the list of four captains.

RCB: Smriti Mandhana
UP: Alyssa Healy
Gujarat : Beth Mooney
Mumbai : Harmanpreet Kaur

Delhi: TBA

Last Updated Mar 1, 2023, 6:57 PM IST


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *